The lab

(See the Lab projects here)

 

Internal & external R&D, workshops & conferences, datadesign & innovative tools, experimental architectures with 169-architecture.The Lab, our melting pot to boost curiosity and new solutions.

Internal R&D. To reflect on new methods (Life Cycle Assessment, Low Carbon building standards), create new tools (ClimElioth, MicroGrid, Met’Elioth), capitalise and share knowledge the most open and efficient way (WikiElioth), innovate in our design and engineering methods(BIM integrated energy modelling), development and cataloguing of innovative and low carbon materials (Teamber team,…) The Lab boosts Egis and Elioth’s thirst for innovation.

R&D for our customers and partners. The Lab acts as an innovation consultant for institutions (“Ground surfaces with variable albedo” for the SPL in Lyon Part-Dieu), for large corporations (EDF R&D for bifacial photovoltaics and can also provide technical & creative expertise to start-ups.

Research and education. For ten years, the Lab has been taking part in institutional research programs (ANR, Puca), writing scientific publications, speaking in conferences (Woodrise, AAG, CisBat, Assises de l’énergie) and fostering close ties with architecture and engineering schools (Ponts ParisTech, EAV&T, EPFL). The Lab can also provide creative training, as part of a wider Egis consultancy expertise.

Data design and innovative tools. To explore new digital tools (R, Python), experiment working in different ways (OpenSource, Github, Slack), to create tools dedicated to the research of new optimals (evolutionary algorithms), to explore new geometries through parametric design, to accelerate  responses to complex issues and to design new representations of complexity (Dataviz). This is just a glimpse of what the Geek Club does within the Lab.

Experimental architecture. With its own integrated laboratory for architecture (169-architecture), the Lab offers unique solutions for very low carbon construction and for the integration of renewable energies. Some recent references include: delivery in 2017 of the timber entrance canopy of the  Marguerite de Navarre entrance in Châtelet-Les Halles, foresight urbanism with the “Renaissance des Fabriques” in Lille: winner of the EDF Low Carbon design competition, invention of new renewable energy archetypes (Wind-it, Montagne Solaire, Cellter), experimental deisgn with FAIRE, Paris (reuse and construction with the Pompidou Centres  curved glazing as part of the extended renovation), participatitve and low carbon urbanism (reinventing the public square in Paris) and the foresight design  of very low carbon harbours(Saint-Malo)…

Our favourite themes

  • Design and zero carbon strategies
  • Adapting to climate change
  • Forecsight in the eveolution of climate
  • Energy / spatial / morphology studies
  • Urban multicriteria optimisation
  • Complexity visualisation
  • Statistical treatment of urban data
  • Urban metabolism

Missions

  • Renewable energy design
  • Urban furniture design
  • Thermal renovation ecodesign
  • Consulting in foresight design
  • Prototyping and site follow-up
  • Project development and innovation incubation
  • Development and creation of industrial property assets

Tools

  • SoldWorks and parametric CAD
  • Processing
  • R
  • Python
  • EnviMet
  • VBA, C#
  • @Risk
  • Models and prototypes
  • 3D print
  • Open hardware and Arduino

Images

Un peu de lecture ?

Read more about our work in the Lab in Elioth portfolio here

 

Projects:

Sobre / Wind-it / EDF bas carbone / Clip’n Clim

LE LAB

(Voir les projets du Lab ici)

 

R&D interne & externe, workshops & conférences, datadesign & outils innovants, architectures expérimentales avec 169-architecture. Le Lab, notre creuset pour booster la curiosité et les solutions nouvelles.

De la R&D interne. Pour réfléchir à de nouvelles méthodes (ACV, référentiels Bas Carbone), fabriquer de nouveaux outils (ClimElioth, MicroGrid, Met’Elioth), capitaliser et partager de la connaissance de la façon la plus efficace et ouverte (WikiElioth), innover dans nos méthodes de conception et d’ingénierie (MNE), thésauriser sur les matériaux innovants et bas carbone (équipe Teamber, …). Le Lab aide à muscler la soif d’innovation d’Egis et d’Elioth.

De la R&D pour nos clients & partenaires. Le Lab peut intervenir comme consultants en innovation auprès d’institutions (« sol à albédo variable » pour la SPL à Lyon Part-Dieu), de grands groupes (R&D d’EDF sur le photovoltaïque biface) ou en expertise technique & créative auprès des start-ups.

Des recherches & de l’enseignement. Depuis dix ans, le Lab participe à des programmes de recherche institutionnelle (ANR, Puca), rédige des publications scientifiques, intervient dans des colloques (Woodrise, AAG, CisBat, Assises de l’énergie) et possède des liens étroits avec l’enseignement en architecture et en ingénierie (Ponts ParisTech, EAV&T, EPFL). Le Lab peut intervenir également en formation créative, en lien avec l’expertise de la BU Conseil.

Du datadesign & des outils innovants. Pour explorer de nouveaux outils numériques (R, Python), expérimenter de nouvelles façons de travailler (OpenSource, Github, Slack), fabriquer des outils dédiés à la recherche de nouveaux optimaux (algorithmes évolutionnaires), explorer de nouvelles géométries (design paramétrique), accélérer les réponses à des problèmes complexes, dessiner de nouvelles représentations de la complexité (dataviz). Voilà un aperçu du champ d’exercice du Geek Club au sein du Lab.

Des architectures expérimentales. Avec son laboratoire d’architecture (169-architecture), le Lab offre des réponses uniques en construction très bas carbone et dans l’intégration d’énergies renouvelables. Quelques références récentes : la livraison en 2017 de l’édicule en bois de l’entrée Marguerite de Navarre à Châtelet-Les Halles, de l’urbanisme prospectif avec la « Renaissance des Fabriques » à Lille : lauréat du concours EDF Bas Carbone, de nouveaux archétypes d’énergies renouvelables (Wind-it, Montagne Solaire, Cellter), des expérimentations dans le cadre de FAIRE (réemploi des vitrages du Centre Pompidou), de l’urbanisme participatif et bas carbone (Réinventer les places parisiennes), des préfigurations de ports très bas carbone (Saint-Malo)…

Thématiques de prédilection

  • Design et stratégies zéro carbone
  • Adaptation au changement climatique
  • Prospective sur l’évolution du climat
  • Etudes énergie/spatialisation/morphologie
  • Optimisation multicritère urbaine
  • Visualisation de la complexité
  • Traitement statistique des données urbaines
  • Metabolisme urbain

Missions

  • Design énergies renouvelables
  • Design mobilier urbain
  • Ecodesign rénovation thermique
  • Consulting design prospectif
  • Prototypage et suivi de réalisation
  • Montage de projets et incubations innovations
  • Développement et création d’actifs de propriété industrielle

Outils

  • SolidWorks et CAO paramétriques
  • Processing
  • R
  • Python
  • EnviMet
  • VBA, C#
  • @Risk
  • Maquettes et prototype
  • Impressions 3D
  • Open hardware et Arduino

Images

Un peu de lecture ?

Consultez le focus « Lab » du book elioth ici

 

Frise projet :

Sobre / Wind-it / EDF bas carbone / Clip’n Clim