description

The project aims to rehabilitate and improve the public’s access conditions to the floors of the Centre Pompidou, in particular by acting on the thermal and visual comfort and safety of all exterior walkways and their curved glass ‘chenille’ which overlooks the Piazza, whose framework, escalators and facades have remained unchanged since the building’s opening in 1977.

The existing structure of the building remains unchanged under this project. The new facades of the track and walkways are designed to not exceed 5% in extra loading compared to existing facades. Access to the escalators require the creation of a new facade structure which brings the facades to the level of the drum doors. Load recovery is also required at level 1 due to the widening of the crawler track access bridge and the widening of the desired passageway to the location of the drum doors at the Centre facade. All of the curved glass enveloppes for the external escalator, walkways and entrances will be replaced.

169-architecture & Elioth are very proud to have been chosen as one of the 25 winning projects in the first Parisian accelerator program for  innovative urban and architectural projects (FAIRE experimental program). The proposal chosen concerned finding solutions for the re-use of th existing curved glass panels of the “chenille”. The 3700m² of  existing1200 glass tiles have geometries suitable for reuse an as elements of an exemplary and iconic building, these pieces have an inestimable sentimental value.

More information about re-use potentials here or there

http://169-archi.tumblr.com/post/162906214103/un-trésor-de-réemploi

 

images

données

localisation

48.860415, 2.352314

description

Le projet vise à remettre en état et à améliorer les conditions d’accessibilité du public aux étages du Centre Pompidou, en agissant notamment sur le confort thermique, visuel et la sécurité de l’ensemble des passerelles extérieures et de la chenille donnant sur la Piazza, dont l’ossature, les escaliers mécaniques et les façades sont restées inchangées depuis l’ouverture du bâtiment en 1977.

La structure existante du bâtiment est inchangée dans le cadre du présent projet. Les nouvelles façades de la chenille et des passerelles sont prévues pour ne pas excéder plus de 5% de surcharge par rapport aux façades existantes. L’accès à la chenille nécessite la création d’une reprise des structures de la façade qui porte les façades au niveau des portes-tambour. Une reprise de charge est également nécessaire au niveau 1 en raison de l’élargissement de la passerelle d’accès à la chenille et de l’élargissement du passage souhaité à l’emplacement des portes-tambour au niveau de la façade du Centre. Les seules façades transformées par le projet concernent l’ensemble des parois de la chenille, des passerelles et l’accès au bâtiment au niveau 1 à l’entrée de la chenille.

169 & Elioth sont l’une équipe faisant partie des 25 projets lauréats du premier accélérateur de projets urbains et architecturaux innovants. La proposition est de trouver une solution de réutilisation des verres cintrés de la « chenille » du Centre Pompidou, dans le cadre du programme d’expérimentation FAIRE. En effet, il semble crucial d’éviter de briser les 3700m² de vitrages trempés et cintrés de l’actuelle Chenille. Ces 1200 tuiles de verres présentent des géométries idoines pour leur réemploi. Bâtiment exemplaire et iconique, ces pièces ont une valeur sentimentale inestimable.

Plus d’informations sur les potentiels réemplois ici ou

http://169-archi.tumblr.com/post/162906214103/un-trésor-de-réemploi

 

images

données

localisation

48.860415, 2.352314