description

The shipbuilding industry is currently experiencing a booming period resulting form the high demand of touristd for cruises. The french shipyard established in Saint Nazaire (STX France) since 1950 are building about 2 mega passenger ships a year; all with glazed surfaces increasingly bigger and closer to the floating line.

The glasroofs roofs, originaly uncommun on pasenger ships, are now frequents getting similars to those frequently incroporated in the building construction. As a result, STX France has called upon Elioth to assist them for the design and the calculation of several major glassroof on ships currently under construction.

So far, Elioth as undertaken on behalf of STX the technical studies for three distincts glassroofs creating succeful collaboration between two différents domains of the construction. Our intervention benefit to STX as it allow them acces to all knowledge and techniques from building construction field on special glass work.

For Elioth, in addition to studies on atypical glassroof, the collaboration with STX France was a occasion to question our design habit by integratting new design hypothesis and constrians usualy ignored on building:

– Wind/Sea pressure on glasses ranging up to 3.5t/ m2 (ten times more than the wind pressure at the top floor of a high rise tower).

– Wid natural frequencies range to be avoided due to the thrusters and other vibrations induced by ship machinery.

– Additional load cases specific to the ships at sea : acceleration, relative deformtaion between decks..

images

données

  • Client : STX France
  • Surface Area : 500 à 1000m² par Ouvrage
  • Services : Dimensionnement et conception technique de verrières

localisation

17 Avenue Antoine Bourdelle, 44600 Saint-Nazaire, France

description

Le monde de la construction navale, tiré par la demande croisssante du secteur du tourisme un en plein essor. Les chantiers de Saint Nazaire sortent, navire après navire, des projets de plus en plus osés avec des surfaces vitrées de plus en plus grandes et de plus en plus proches de la ligne de flotaison.

Poussé par ces conceptions de verrière/façades de plus en plus proche de celles du monde du bâtiment, STX France a fait appel à Elioth pour les aider à concevoir et fiabiliser le dimensionnement de plusieurs ouvrages d’envergure sur des navires en cours de construction.

A ce jour, trois verrières auront été étudiées par Elioth pour le compte de STX.  Ces missions auront été l’occasaion d‘une belle collaboration entre deux mondes de la construction. Notre intervention aura notament permis à STX de bénéificier pour la mise au point de leur ouvrages vitrées de toutes les connaissances et techniques sur les ouvrages spéciaux du domaine du  bâtiment qui est avance sur la construction navale sur ces domaine.

Pour Elioth, en plus d’études sur des ouvrages spéciaux atypiques, cela aura été l’occasion de remettre en question les principes de conception des verrières par l’intégration de critères inconnues dans le moinde du batîment :

  • Pression sur les verres pouvant aller jusqu’à 3.5t/m2 soit dix fois plus qu’au dernier étage d’une tour de bureau.
  • Des fréquences à respecter dues au propulseurs extrémement plus contraingant que la suel vibrations du vent.
  • La prise en compte de type d’éfforts spécifique aux navires en pleine mer : accélération, glissements relatifs.

 

images

données

  • Client : STX France
  • Superficie : 500 à 1000m² par Ouvrage
  • Prestation : Dimensionnement et conception technique de verrières

localisation

17 Avenue Antoine Bourdelle, 44600 Saint-Nazaire, France